Eating Wheat Free

 

To help anyone that wants to live a wheat free lifestyle and anyone that already is, here’s a bit of information to make the process a little easier.
 
What is wheat?
 
Well, wheat is actually a grain that grows well with little water and in extreme temperatures. For this reason, it is grown just about everywhere in the world that can sustain agriculture. When we think of wheat, what we are actually eating is the seed of wheat, called wheat berries. These are processed, ground and cooked to form an edible product. Traditionally, wheat isn’t eaten without first being cooked. Almost all baked goods, flours, breads, pasta, cereals, & gravies contain wheat products. Seitan, bran, wheat germ, bulgar, & couscous are all different types of wheat. Even modified cornstarch and gluten are wheat products 
 
Why wheat free? 
 
Apart from the atkins diet, which didn’t seem to stick around too long, the main reason one would abstain from wheat is because of the way it affects the body. Many people have a hard time digesting wheat because of how hearty it is and how much processing is required. Some however have a complete allergy to wheat. The rest of people that choose to abstain from wheat probably do so because of gluten intolerance. 

Are there other options? 
 
Because wheat is a grain, there are plenty of other options available. Many people that are allergic to wheat are only allergic to common wheat or Triticum sativum. These people often find they tolerate spelt much better. Some other alternatives are amaranth, barley, buckwheat, corn, kamut, millet, oats, quinoa, rye, & bulgar. Most of these are safe for people with a wheat allergy to to eat, but it is best to make sure on the label that a product is wheat free.
 
Revitalize! Health Spa & Organic Store
311 W Kennewick Ave
Kennewick, WA 99336
Phone: 509-586-6574

Top